University Culture

Connect with Us

Jessica Cervantes

Major: Biology

Hometown: Santa Maria

Hello! My name is Jessica Cervantes, I am a first-generation college student. I started CI as a first-time freshman. I am also, a first-generation college student. I am the oldest child in my family and daughter of immigrant parents, so it was extremely important for me to set a good example for my younger siblings. Which is why I decided to attend a 4-year University. Of course, like anyone else, I was extremely nervous to move away from home and go to college, but I realized that going to college was going to be the next step in my journey to becoming a doctor.

I have always had an interest in science, since I was a little girl I had dreamt of becoming a doctor. When I was in high school, my favorite class was Biology, I loved everything about it, and I knew that Biology would get me closer to my goal of becoming a doctor. So, I chose Biology as my major here at CI. I decided on going to CI because I saw it was the best fit for me.

I wanted to be somewhere close enough to home where I could go visit often, but far enough to where I could live in the dorms and get the whole college experience. Since I first heard about college and where it could get me, my heart was set on getting into one. I understood that in order to reach my career goals I would have to get an education first. I am currently trying to get my Bachelor of Science degree in Biology, once I obtain my degree, I plan on going to medical school. I hope to work either in the pathology or orthopedic field.

A fun fact about me is that I love animals! My absolute favorite animals are dogs! I think they are such great companions and really do make a man's best friend. Even though dogs are my favorite, I love all animals. I currently own many pets, including dogs, cats, chickens, goats, horses, pigs, you name it, and I probably have it! For fun, I enjoy spending time with my pets. Sometimes I’ll play fetch with my dogs, or takes them for a walk, other times I’ll go horseback riding or just groom them. A side fun fact is that even though I own three cats, I am very allergic of them, but I still love them.

The path to college was a little difficult for me. My parents weren’t too sure on how to help me get into college. I had their full support and they tried to help me with the best of their abilities, but it was still difficult. So, being a University Culture Mentor I hope to aid students who might be going through a similar situation, and help them with their path to pursuing their educational goals